Share Tweet Share Email

More than 40 NIU faculty up for tenure, promotions

June 21, 2021

The NIU Board of Trustees last week approved promotions and tenure for more than 40 faculty members, recognizing their years of hard work and commitment.

Promotions and granting of tenure are serious decisions that involve rigorous evaluation of faculty scholarship, teaching and service.

“Each of these faculty members has demonstrated excellence in artistry and scholarship, a dedication to NIU’s students, and a desire to reach beyond the borders of NIU’s campus to improve the lives of the people of the region, state, nation and world,” Provost Beth Ingram said.

“Every one of these faculty members has demonstrated success in teaching our students,” she added. “I want to say congratulations to each and every one.”

The principal purpose of tenure is to safeguard academic freedom, which is necessary for all who teach and conduct research in higher education, according to the American Association of University Professors. Tenure also serves society and the common good by protecting the quality and integrity of teaching and research and thus the quality and integrity of institutions of higher education.

The following faculty tenure and/or promotions will be effective July 1.

Promotions from associate professor to professor

Scott Balcerzak, English; Meghann Cefaratti, Accountancy; Lara Crowley, English; Aleksandra Giza, Art and Design; Jennifer Gray, Health Studies; Janice Hamlet, Communication; Mitchell Irwin, Anthropology; Jeffrey Kidder, Sociology; Melanie Koss, Curriculum and Instruction; Michael Kushnick, Allied Health & Communicative Disorders; Michelle Lilly, Psychology; Shanthi Muthuswamy, Engineering Technology; Janet Olson, Allied Health & Communicative Disorders; David Paige, Curriculum and Instruction; Nicholas Pohlman, Mechanical Engineering; Mark Riley, Accountancy; Diane Rodgers, Sociology; Alecia Santuzzi, Psychology; Kheang Un, Political Science; Stephen Vilaseca, World Languages and Cultures; Donna Werderich, Curriculum and Instruction; Corrine Wickens, Curriculum and Instruction.

Promotion from assistant professor to associate professor with tenure

Hamed Alhoori, Computer Science; Shannon Becker, World Languages and Cultures; Mandy Faretta-Stutenberg, World Languages and Cultures; Melissa Fickling, Counseling & Higher Education; Jeremy Floyd, Theatre and Dance; Benedito Fonseca, Jr., Electrical Engineering; Allison Gladfelter, Allied Health & Communicative Disorders; Furkan Gur, Management; Andrea Guzman, Communication; Ryan Hibbett, English; Jennifer Jacobs, Kinesiology & Physical Education; Lisa Liberty, Special & Early Education; Mark Mellon, Accountancy; Matt Pickard, Accountancy; Eunju Rho, Public Administration; Iman Salehinia, Mechanical Engineering; Daniel Sibley, Family and Consumer Sciences; Matthew Smith, World Languages and Cultures; Shupei Yuan, Communication; Haiming Zhou, Statistics and Actuarial Science.

Tenure Only at the Rank of Associate Professor

Daniel McConkie, Law; and David Rosenfeld, Law.