Share Tweet Share Email

CLAS honors 11 at annual awards

November 4, 2019

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences honored 11 alumni, faculty and staff Oct. 25 during an annual event at Barsema Alumni and Visitors Center.

Recipients of the 2019 CLAS Distinguished Awards (left to right): Alumni recipient Patrick Korellis, Acting Dean Judy Ledgerwood, Faculty recipient Amanda Littauer. Second row: Staff recipient Phil Young, Alumni recipient Joyce Ester and Staff recipient Aleks Kosoris.
Not pictured are John Burns, Nicolaus Harjanto, James Lamb (posthumous), Katharina Barbe, Philip Gray (posthumous) and F. Marion Miller (posthumous).

Honorees were presented CLAS Distinguished Awards, which first made their appearance in 2009 in conjunction with the College’s 50th anniversary. The award program, created by then-dean Christopher McCord, honor alumni who have achieved (or are in the process of achieving) prominence either in their professional fields or through their involvement in civic, cultural, or charitable service as well as faculty and staff who have made a strong, positive impact on the College, having done so by making outstanding contributions to the past development, present stature, and future potential of the College. To date, 159 alumni, faculty and staff have been honored.

2019 honorees:

John Burns (B.A., English, 1988)
Joyce Ester (B.A., Sociology, 1987)
Nicolaus Harjanto (Ph.D., Political Science, 2010)
James Lamb (B.A., Social Science, 1951; M.S., Education Administration, 1953)
Patrick Korellis (B.S., Geography, 2008; B.S., Meteorology, 2008)

Katharina Barbe (WLC emerita)
Philip A. Gray (COMS emeritus)
Amanda Littauer (HIST and CWGS Associate Professor)
F. Marion Miller (CHEM emeritus)

Aleks Kosoric, CLAS IT
Philip Young, Geovisual Mapping Lab

McCord was honored by the CLAS Advisory Council for his decade of service to the College. He served as dean from 2007-2017, and went onto to serve as Acting Provost and Executive Vice President.