Professor Hogan named CEET’s Faculty of the Year

Ted Hogan

The College of Engineering and Engineering Technology (CEET) of Northern Illinois University (NIU) presented Associate Professor Ted Hogan, Ph. D. with the 2019 Faculty of the Year award at its meeting on August 21.

Professor Hogan joined the Department of Engineering Technology in 2011 after a long career in environmental safety and health. Prior to starting at NIU, Professor Hogan was the head of safety and industrial hygiene for ComEd. He also ran his own consulting firm for 20 years that provided services to more than 400 clients and developed safety procedures and training programs for multinational companies.

He was recently selected to participate in an ad hoc committee established by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine to review the Department of Defense’s approach to deriving an occupational exposure limit for trichloroethylene.

“Professor Hogan exemplifies the kind of dedication, expertise and commitment to student learning that we strive to offer at the CEET,” said CEET Dean Donald Peterson, Ph. D.

His colleagues commend him for his excellence in teaching and his students consistently rate him with high evaluation scores. He is often credited by his students as the reason that many of them complete their degrees in engineering technology.

Professor Hogan is also involved with research projects that include safety training, management and personal protection in the workplace, as well as skin exposures to chemical sensitizers.
He earned his doctorate and master’s degrees in public health (environmental and occupational health sciences) from University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health and his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Loyola University in Chicago. He is also a Certified Industrial Hygienist. He is a member of the Threshold Limit Values Chemical Substances Committee of the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists and a member of the Argonne National Laboratory’s Institutional Biosafety Committee.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email