Share Tweet Share Email

Mark Pietrowski selected for Seventh Edgar Fellows class

August 20, 2018

Mark Piertrowski

Mark Pietrowski Jr., DeKalb County board chair and director of NIU Continuing and Professional Education recently was selected as one of 40 emerging leaders in the state of Illinois to take part in the seventh class of the University of Illinois Edgar Fellows Program.

The group of 40 were selected from nearly 170 nominations by an advisory board of former and current elected leaders and public and private CEOs and directors. The leadership program this year ran from Sunday, Aug. 5 to Thursday, Aug. 9, and was packed from morning until night with presentations, workshops and activities.

“It was an honor to be selected to this prestigious leadership fellowship, and I was able to build amazing relationships during the week and be inspired that there are others in the state also working hard to find solutions and work together to achieve them,” said Pietrowski.

The program is designed and constructed each year by former Illinois Governor Jim Edgar to “inspire respectful and collaborative leadership to address the state’s major challenges.”

“The fellowship is unique in that Governor Edgar designs it to be non-partisan and be representative of the state with a diversity of gender, race, political ideology, public and private leaders in order to help us build friendships and understanding with people we may not regularly interact with in our daily lives,” said Pietrowski.

The class of 2018 were added to the growing list of Edgar Fellowship Alumni and stay connected throughout the year through email, social media and alumni events throughout the state.

“I am looking forward to utilizing what I learned and the relationships I have built to help our DeKalb County community and Northern Illinois University,” said Pietrowski.

2018 Edgar Fellows:

— Alma Anaya, Cook County commissioner-elect

— Kristopher Anderson, state and local government consultant

— State Sen. Omar Aquino, D-Chicago

— Amy Barry, director of communications/public affairs, Illinois Senate Republican staff

— State Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant, D-Shorewood

— Nathaniel Brown, academic co-director, Study of the U.S. Institute for Student Leaders

— Helena Buckner, Macon County Board commissioner

— Nikki Budzinski, senior advisor, JB for Governor

— Beniamino Capellupo, executive director, SEIU Illinois State Council

— Jeff DeHaan, senior wealth advisor and chief compliance officer, Clearwater Capital Partners

— Courtney Eccles, director of Secure Choice Program, Illinois Treasurer’s office

— Chuck Feinen, counsel, State Farm

— State Rep. La Shawn Ford, D-Chicago

— State Sen. Dale Fowler, R-Harrisburg

— Magdalena Fudalewicz, manager, Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation

— Emily Gibellina, director of government relations, UI Hospital and Health Sciences System

— State Rep. LaToya Greenwood, D-East St. Louis

— State Rep. Mike Halpin, D-Rock Island

— Frank Haney, Winnebago County Board chairman

— State Rep. Sonya Harper, D-Chicago

— Sarah Hartwick, executive director, ED-RED

— Richard Irvin, Aurora mayor

— Ra Joy, former executive director, CHANGE Illinois

— Staci Mayall, Fulton County treasurer

— Steve McClure, Republican nominee, Illinois Senate District 50

— Tom McNamara, Rockford mayor

— Aaron Ortiz, Democratic nominee, Illinois House District 1

— Mark Pietrowski Jr., DeKalb County Board chairman and director of NIU Continuing and Professional Education

— Delia Ramirez, Democratic nominee, Illinois House District 4

— Prashanthi Rao Raman, director of global policy, Lyft

— Chasse Rehwinkel, chief economist, Illinois Comptroller’s Office

— Bria Scudder, senior government and community liaison, Illinois Attorney General’s Office

— Catie Sheehan, Sangamon County Board vice chairwoman

— Mariyana Spyropoulos, president, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District

— Brad Stotler, district director for U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood

— Curtis Tarver II, Democratic candidate, Illinois House District 25

— Jennifer Walling, executive director, Illinois Environmental Council

— Brandon Zanotti, Williamson County state’s attorney

— Sarah Zehr, Assistant Vice-president for Academic Affairs, University of Illinois

— Michael Ziri, director of public policy, Equality Illinois