Share Tweet Share Email

Leslie Matuszewich named URAD/CES mentor of the year 

May 9, 2018

Undergraduate Research and Artistry Day (URAD) and the Community Engagement Showcase (CES) not only highlight the great work that our students are participating in but the dedication and support that our NIU faculty and staff have for our students’ success and growth at NIU. The relationship between students and their faculty mentors are life-changing, often for both the faculty and the student. NIU proudly celebrates the many faculty and staff across campus who mentor and support students encouraging growth and development and paving the way to student career success.

URAD and CES participants have an opportunity to nominate their mentor for the Faculty Mentor of the Year award. Nominees are evaluated on their ability to foster student participation in research and artistry activities, balance between advisee and nurturing critical thinking, and ability to develop a mentoring relationship that exudes genuine care in the student and their learning. This year the Office of Student Engagement and Experiential Learning (OSEEL) received 19 nominations.

Leslie Matuszewich

This year’s recipient, Leslie Matuszewich, Ph.D., is a great supporter of undergraduate research at NIU.

One nominator stated, “While doing this research, I was empowered and motivated/pushed to do my best as well as learn the most I could about the field.” Another nominator noted her dedication to student learning, “Her absolute eagerness to aid in her students’ successes shows in her desire for them to gain autonomy in her lab and in the outside world of wherever their paths may lead them.”

Congratulations to Dr. Matuszewich and thank you to all who submitted nominations!

Other nominees include:

Nicholas BarberBiological Sciences
Sachit ButailMechanical Engineering
Doug WallaceNeuropsychology
David ValentinerPsychology
Kristin HuffineHistory
Natalie AndzikSpecial and Early Education
Nathan KrislockMathematical Sciences
James HornBiochemistry
Mary Lynn HenningsenCommunication
Amy NewmanEnglish
Jenn JacobsKinesiology and Physical Education
Mitch IrwinAnthropology
M. Anne BrittPsychology
Daniel OlsonBiological Sciences
Scott SibleyFamily and Consumer Sciences
Matthew RomriellSchool of Theatre and Dance
Christine NguyenIndustrial and Systems Engineering
Gary ChenIndustrial and Systems Engineering
Jie ChenNursing
Lisa FinkelsteinPsychology
Diane M. RodgersSociology
Amanda McCarthyRehabilitation and Disability Services
Kurt RademakerAnthropology