Share Tweet Share Email

NIU Athletics Hall of Fame to welcome its 33rd induction class

October 2, 2017

More than 30 members of the NIU Athletics Hall of Fame and head coaches of Hall-of-Fame teams are expected to be on hand when the six-member “Class of 2017” is inducted on Friday, October 6, at 7:00 p.m. in the historic Duke Ellington Ballroom at the Holmes Student Center.

The “Class of 2017” includes Dee Abrahamson, Softball Head Coach, 1980-94; Athletics Administrator, 1995-2011; and NCAA Secretary-Rules Editor, 1996-2015; Steve Azar, Football, 2000-03; Mark Goodson, Men’s Gymnastics, 1976-80; Ed Kositzki, Men’s Soccer, 1969-71; Angela Lockett, Women’s Basketball, 1990-92, 1993-95; and Garrett Wolfe, Football, 2004-06.


Complimentary tickets to the 33rd induction ceremony can be reserved by simply e-mailing [email protected]. Please include full name and number of tickets requested. An e-mail confirmation will be sent and tickets can be picked up at the reception table outside the Duke Ellington Ballroom on Friday, October 6.

“The NIU Athletics Hall of Fame recognizes the best of the best,” said Sean Frazier, NIU Associate Vice President and Director of Athletics. “Since its inception in 1978, thousands of student athletes, coaches and administrators have participated in intercollegiate athletics at NIU since 1899 and our Hall of Fame has to date inducted just 206 individuals, 18 teams and one family. It truly represents the very best of NIU Athletics.

“We have a spectacular program with lots of surprises planned for the Hall of Fame’s 33rd induction ceremony on Friday, October 6, as we welcome the ‘Class of 2017,’ he said. “I know our alums will be thoroughly entertained and very proud of their alma mater.”

Returning Hall-of-Fame members (to date) include Jane Albright, Kenny Battle, Tom Beck,      Dr. Mary Bell, George Bork, Rodney Davis, Dawnita Doty-Teague, Roger Dutton, Ruth Fender-Heal, Bob Gregolunas, Cary Groth, Bob Heimerdinger, Jill Justin-Coffel, LeShon Johnson, Sue Kause, Mark Kellar, Mike Korcek, Al Kranz, Kirk Mango, Lou Jean Moyer, Walter Owens, John Peterson, Beth Schrader-Simmons, Julie Sexton, Charmonique Stallworth, George Tyms, Jennifer Van Alstyne-Horvath, Tim Tyrrell.  In addition, Hall-of-Fame-team Head Coaches Bobbie Cesarek and Dave Mason will participate and Hall of Famer Bill Baker will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Schedule of Events:

Friday, October 6
Duke Ellington Ballroom
Holmes Student Center
Cocktail reception – 5:30 p.m.
33rd Induction Ceremony – 7:00 p.m.

About the “Class of 2017”

Dee Abrahamson-Softball, Head Coach, 1980-94; NIU Athletics Administrator, 1994-2011

Dee Abrahamson is the winningest coach in NIU softball history, leading the Huskies to a remarkable 416-286-5 (.592) record over 15 seasons. Her teams won 30 or more games six times and, in 1988, became the first Division-1 program at NIU to advance to the NCAA’s Final Eight with its appearance at the Women’s College World Series. Following her coaching career, she moved into athletics administration at NIU, serving in a number of senior-level positions from 1994-2011.

Steve Azar-Football, 2000-03

Steve Azar remains NIU football’s all-time leading scorer and is the only player in Huskie football history to earn all-conference honors four times. A right-footed soccer-style kicker, he established at least 15 school records, including Most Points Scored, Career (370); Most Field Goals Made, Career and Season (73/21); Most Field Goals Attempted, Career (92); and Highest Field Goal Percentage, Career and Season (.793/.933).

Mark Goodson-Men’s Gymnastics, 1976-80

Mark Goodson was a two-time All-American and multiple NIU record setter on the floor exercise. He qualified for the NCAA championships four times and established two school records on the floor and in the vault. Goodson was previously inducted into the NIU Athletics Hall of Fame as a member of 1978-79 Men’s Gymnastics team in 2010.

Ed Kositzki-Men’s Soccer, 1969-70

Ed Kositzki was one of the most prolific scorers in NIU soccer history and became just the second All-American in program history. Still the Huskie record-holder for goals in a career (45) and season (27), he also established the school record of seven goals in a single game which he did twice – in a span of just three games – in 1971. Kositzki was more than just a goal scorer as he graduated as the program’s all-time leader with 21 career assists.

Angela Lockett-Women’s Basketball, 1990-92, 1993-95

Angela Lockett was a scoring and rebounding force who helped guide the NIU women’s basketball team to the postseason in each of her four seasons on the court.

Seventh on NIU’s all-time scoring list, she also led NIU in rebounding for four seasons, closing her career with 1,014 career boards, the third-best mark in school history. Lockett was also a two-time conference tournament Most Valuable Player.

Garrett Wolfe-Football, 2004-06

Garrett Wolfe was a the three-time All-America running back who established – and still holds – NIU records in career rushing yards (5,164), rushing touchdowns (52) and rushing yards in a single game (353). A three-time First Team All-MAC honoree, he led the nation in rushing with 1,928 rushing yards as a senior in 2006 and earned the Vern Smith Leadership Award as the MAC’s Most Valuable Player.