Share Tweet Share Email

2017 Deacon Davis Diversity Award winners named 

April 23, 2017

NIU’s Presidential Commission on the Status of Minorities (PCSM) selected undergraduate student Laura Vivaldo Cholula; graduate student Kristina Wilkerson, counseling adult and higher education; Beverly McCall, advisor/counselor, CHANCE Program; Lisa King, associate director, CHANCE Program and Yolanda King, associate professor, College of Law as the recipients of this year’s Deacon Davis Diversity Awards. Katrina Myers Caldwell, former assistant vice president for Diversity and Equity will be acknowledged for her service to the university.

Named in honor of Deacon Davis, founder and former director of the CHANCE (Counseling Help and Assistance Necessary for a College Education) Program, the PCSM created the award to recognize the significant contributions made to the improvement of the status of ethnic minorities on campus by members of the university community. The Deacon Davis Diversity Award also recognizes organizations, departments or programs that significantly improve the status of ethnic minorities at NIU.

The presentation of the Deacon Davis Awards will begin at 12:30 p.m., in the Ellington Room on Wednesday, April 26, followed by the diversity summit entitled “Diversity: Women of Color on the NIU Campus and in the Community” at 1 p.m. Dr. Myers Caldwell is the speaker. The awards ceremony will be preceded by a luncheon beginning at 11:50 a.m. All are welcome to attend the luncheon and awards ceremony

In addition to attending the afternoon luncheon and awards ceremony, students are invited to join in the discussion concerning issues that women of color face on the NIU campus and solutions to address these concerns. The discussion will take place in Barsema Hall Auditorium School of Business beginning at 6 p.m. Refreshments will be served. For more information, contact PCSM Chair Felicia R. Bohanon at 815-753-1868 or [email protected].