Share Tweet Share Email

Unity in Diversity essay winners announced

November 9, 2015

2011-2012 Unity in Diversity poster designed by ChrisNorthern Illinois University will recognize the winners of the Unity in Diversity student essay contest during a reception on Wednesday, November 11, 2015. The event will take place at 3:30 p.m. in the Chandelier Room in Adams Hall.

The event is open to the public and light refreshments will be served.

The Unity in Diversity essay contest is open to first-year composition students as part of the Department of English’s efforts to enhance students’ competence to exercise freedom of expression through writing. Student essays supported the values of unity in diversity by highlighting the  importance and understanding of cultural differences that have historically constituted a strength of the American experiment.

The Unity in Diversity student essay winners are:

First Place – Alexander Ainoo (John Bradley, instructor), Jalissa Murray (Adam Burgess, instructor)

Second Place – Lavell Ballard (Jeanne Jakubowski, instructor)

Third Place –  Alexia Gomez (John Bradley, instructor), Marcos Quezada (Maria Alderson, instructor)

Honorable Mention – Erika Hendler (Jeanne Jakubowski, instructor), Danish Mohiuddin (Jeanne Jakubowski, instructor)

The university community is invited to participate in a celebration of diversity and accomplishment by these seven NIU students.