Share Tweet Share Email

Extra, extra! Northern Star honors distinguished alumni

November 3, 2014

Northern Star Hall of Fame logoNIU’s student newspaper, the Northern Star, held its awards banquet and Hall of Fame induction ceremony Oct. 10 in the Sky Room of the Holmes Student Center.

The Northern Star Hall of Fame honors former students, advisers and friends of the newspaper who have significantly influenced the Northern Star, journalism and related fields, or who have otherwise received acclaim based in part on experience gained at the paper.

All awards serve as a way to keep alumni actively involved in support of the Northern Star and to encourage Northern Star students toward excellence in their chosen career paths.

Last month’s ceremony included several new award categories: Rising Stars, Making A+ Difference Awards and Star Innovators.

Rising Stars are those alumni with five to 15 years of professional experience who show outstanding promise in their fields. Making A+ Difference Award winners are those alumni who have made a difference through charitable work, inventions or social programs.

Star Innovators are those alumni who make a difference in their career through innovations such as creating improvements or new ways of conducting their work to the betterment of the profession or industry.

The Northern Star Alumni Board wanted to expand its recognition program to honor individuals making a difference in a range of careers and organizations. The board traditionally has done a good job at recognizing alumni in journalism- and business-related fields,” said Shelley Hendricks, adviser of the Star.

2014 Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Caron Weil Blitz, David Oliveira, Phil Jurik, Richard Nelson, Jason Schaumburg

2014 Star Innovators

  • John Kariotis, David Lipien, Brendan Sullivan, Jeffrey Vogelsang

2014 Rising Stars

  • Greg Clemens, Marc Marin, David Moore, Carl Schweihs

2014 Making A+ Difference recipients

  • Jim Elliott, Jean Davidson Meister, Vicki Quade
Northern Star Hall of Fame 2014

Northern Star Hall of Fame 2014