Share Tweet Share Email

Law alumnus Jerry B. Kurz named Arena Football president

September 16, 2014
Jerry B. Kurz

Jerry B. Kurz

The Arena Football League announced today that Northern Illinois University College of Law alumnus Jerry B. Kurz has been appointed the AFL’s first-ever league president.

Kurz, who just completed his fifth year as Commissioner and his 28th year with the AFL, is credited with the rebirth of the League following its bankruptcy filing in 2009. Under his leadership, the League has expanded to Los Angeles, Portland and Las Vegas. He also brought in David Siegel of Westgate Resorts as new ownership for the Orlando Predators.

During his tenure as Commissioner, the AFL enjoyed three national broadcast partnerships with CBS Sports Network, ESPN, and NFL Network. In 2014, the League had two national broadcast partners in the same season – CBS Sports Network and ESPN – for the first time in its history. Kurz also secured an agreement to show all non-nationally televised AFL games on ESPN3.

With the growth of the AFL, the Board of Directors agreed at League meetings during ArenaBowl XXVII week that this newly created leadership position should be filled by Kurz. He will continue dedicating his life to furthering the sport by providing his unmatched football knowledge and strong business ethic. Kurz will continue his efforts to bring the highest quality product to the ever-growing population of Arena Football fans.

“I’m pleased that our Board of Directors has asked me to continue doing what I love to do,” Kurz said. “It’s such an honor that I get to continue helping the AFL move towards its bright future.”

Jerry-KurzThe AFL and Kurz have agreed to a three-year contract. His areas of emphasis will include football operations, game rules, player personnel and development, coaches, game officials, compliance, relationships and negotiations with the AFLPU and AFLOA, international development of the game and continued oversight of the Arena Football Hall of Fame.

Kurz earned his Juris Doctor degree at NIU after attending the University of Oklahoma. He is a member of four football halls of fame, including membership in the first classes of both the Arena Football Hall of Fame and the af2 Hall of Fame.