Share Tweet Share Email

MCTI to present faculty, staff projects Nov. 1

October 21, 2013

Multicultural Curriculum Transformation Institute logoMembers of the NIU community soon will have the opportunity to hear presentations on multicultural curriculum transformation given by faculty and staff from a wide range of disciplines, including nursing, history, business and education.

These events are the result of the presenters’ participation in the 2013 Multicultural Curriculum Transformation Institute.

The institute, which took place in May, was designed to facilitate discussion about multicultural issues, to provide resources for research on multicultural subjects and to offer tenured- and tenure-track faculty, instructors and SPS employees with teaching responsibilities support for incorporating multicultural perspectives and content into their teaching.

The institute includes plenary addresses by invited scholars, presentations by NIU faculty, panel discussions, syllabi critiques, videos and small group activities that focus on race, ethnicity, gender, social class, sexual orientation and disabilities.

Each participant is required to revise or create a course plan incorporating diversity and to present the project to the public in the fall semester following the institute.

Presentations are scheduled from 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 1, in rooms 306 and 406 of the Holmes Student Center. A full presentation schedule is available online.

Kristen Myers

Kristen Myers

Speakers include:

  • Buyung “Datu” Agusdinata (Industrial & Systems Engineering);
  • Jason Akst (Communication);
  • Steven Barleen (Academic Advising Center);
  • Sheila Barrett (Family, Consumer & Nutrition Sciences);
  • Alan Clemens (Leadership, Educational Psychology & Foundations);
  • James Cohen (Literacy Education);
  • Bryan Dallas (Allied Health & Communicative Disorders);
  • Lynn Herrmann (School of Nursing & Health Studies);
  • Marilyn Justus (Leadership, Educational Psychology & Foundations);
  • Amanda Littauer (History & Women’s Studies);
  • Angelica Mendoza (Latino Resource Center )
  • Geoffrey Pynn (Philosophy);
  • Julie Ramisch (Family, Consumer & Nutrition Sciences);
  • John Evar Strid (Literacy Education);
  • Morse Tan (College of Law);
  • Tharaphi Than (Foreign Languages & Literatures);
  • Sheela Vemu (Biological Sciences);
  • Jui-Ching Wang (School of Music);
  • Shei-Chau Wang (School of Art);
  • Teresa Wasonga (Leadership, Educational Psychology & Foundations); and
  • Sandra Wolf (School of Nursing & Health Studies).

The next institute will take place in May 2015.

For more information, contact Kristen Myers, chair of the Committee on Multicultural Curriculum Transformation, at [email protected], or the committee’s graduate assistant, Carly Seibel, at [email protected].