Share Tweet Share Email

NIU honors Dan Gebo, Paul Kelter, Zhili Xiao with Board of Trustees Professorships for 2013

March 25, 2013
Dan Gebo, Paul Kelter and Zhili Xiao

Dan Gebo, Paul Kelter and Zhili Xiao

NIU has named Dan Gebo in anthropology, Paul Kelter in literacy education and Zhili Xiao in physics as its 2013 Board of Trustees Professors – a top university honor that recognizes faculty members for international renown in their research and excellence in all facets of teaching.

Gebo’s paleontological research is elucidating the origins of primates. Kelter is working to improve ways that students of all ages learn math and science. And Xiao is conducting pioneering work in the high-tech field of nanoscience.

Each of the three also has built a reputation for top-tier teaching, bringing students into the research fold.

“This award recognizes the very best of the best, and this trio couldn’t be more deserving,” says NIU President John Peters. “Professors Gebo, Kelter and Xiao are extraordinary and engaging mentors to NIU students, and they are also well known internationally for being at the very forefront in their respective fields of research.”

Established in 2007, the Board of Trustees Professorships honor faculty members who have consistently demonstrated excellence in teaching, academic leadership, scholarship or artistry, and service and outreach.

Each BOT Professorship is accompanied by a $10,000 stipend, renewable annually during a five-year term. The BOT Professorship awards will be presented during the annual Faculty Awards Ceremony and Reception from 3 to 5 p.m. Monday, April 22, in the Altgeld Auditorium.

Click on the names below for closer looks at the 2013 BOT Professors:

Celebrating Excellence logoThis event is part of Celebrating Excellence at NIU, scheduled from Sunday, April 14, through Sunday, April 28. Celebrating Excellence highlights the accomplishments and contributions of NIU students, faculty, staff and alumni to the university’s mission of promoting excellence and engagement in teaching and learning, research and scholarship, creativity and artistry, and outreach and service during the academic year.