Share Tweet Share Email

Football boss Dave Doeren named semifinalist for Maxwell Collegiate Coach of the Year honor

November 19, 2012
Dave Doeren

Dave Doeren

Northern Illinois head football coach Dave Doeren has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2012 Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, the organization announced over the weekend.

Doeren has led the 2012 Huskies to 10 straight victories, the Mid-American Conference West Division Championship and a No. 24/23 national ranking in the Associated Press and USA Today Coaches’ polls.

Northern Illinois is the only team in the country to win 19 of its last 20 games, and the Huskies’ current 10-game winning streak ties for the longest in a single season in school history.

In two seasons at the helm of the NIU program, his first two as a head coach, Doeren is 21-4.

Following its regular season finale Friday, Nov. 23,  versus Eastern Michigan in Ypsilanti, where NIU has the opportunity to win its 11th game for the third consecutive year and at the earliest point in program history, the Huskies will take on Kent State in the 2012 Marathon MAC Championship game, scheduled Nov. 30 in Detroit, Mich.

Doeren and Kent State’s Darrell Hazell are both on the MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year semifinalist list.

The rest of the semifinalists are: Sonny Dykes (Louisiana Tech), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Chip Kelly (Oregon), Mike MacIntyre (San Jose State), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Jim Mora (UCLA), Will Muschamp (Florida), Bill O’Brien (Penn State), Mark Richt (Georgia), Mike Riley (Oregon State), David Shaw (Stanford), Bill Snyder (Kansas State), Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M), Dabo Swinney (Clemson).

The MFC National Selection Committee chose the semifinalists for the Collegiate Coach of the Year honor.

Voting for the award takes place from Tuesday, Nov. 20 through Tuesday, Dec. 4. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media. Brady Hoke of the University of Michigan was the 2011 winner of the award.

For more information on NIU football and Huskie athletics, visit