Share Tweet Share Email

College of Health and Human Sciences names winners of dean’s 2012 faculty, student awards

June 6, 2012

NIU’s College of Health and Human Sciences announces the 2012 winners of the Dean’s Faculty Awards and Dean’s Student Awards.

Dean’s Faculty Awards

Sarah Cosbey

Sarah Cosbey

The Lankford Award for Excellence in Teaching is given each year to a full-time, tenured or tenure-tracked faculty member within the College of Health and Human Sciences with at least three years of experience at NIU, ranking in the top quarter of student evaluations and upper half of teaching evaluations within those three years.

James Lankford, former dean of the college, initiated the award.

The 2012 winner of the Lankford Award is Sarah Cosbey, associate professor of Textiles, Apparel and Merchandising in the School of Family, Consumer and Nutrition Sciences.

Professor Cosbey strives to make learning a positive, pleasurable experience, which is an important part of her teaching philosophy. She values clear and accessible teaching methods while encouraging students “to hold themselves to a high standard of performance.”

Cosbey says she believes that learning is not only an academic endeavor, but a personal one. “Through learning, we also discover who we are,” she says, “and what is important to us as individuals.”

Beverly Henry

Beverly Henry

The Sullivan Award for Excellence in Research is given to a full-time, tenured or tenure-tracked faculty member or full-time supportive professional staff who has at least three years of experience at NIU. Grantsmanship and collaborative efforts with students will also be considered as part of the criteria for selection.

Peggy Sullivan, former dean of the college, endowed the award.

The 2012 winner of the Sullivan Award is Beverly Henry, associate professor of Nutrition and Dietetics in the School of Family, Consumer and Nutrition Sciences.

Henry published 21 articles since joining the faculty eight years ago, and has supervised 20 master’s theses. Her primary research focus is to enhance a person-centered focus to delivery of health care.

In academic year 2011-12 she was on sabbatical leave as a research team member at the Simulation, Immersive Learning and Technology Center of the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. Her research centered on how patients perceive their medical team’s communication.

Other research projects of Henry have a community focus. At NIU, she is a member of the Take Action for Healthy Preschoolers research team. She was project adviser to the Latino Infant Nutrition Initiative, and is a research consultant with the Activate Elgin coalition and Kane County Fit Kids 2010 initiative.

Sherrill Morris

Sherrill Morris

The Fisher Award for Excellence in Service is given each year to a regular full-time, tenured or tenure-tracked faculty member or regular full-time supportive professional staff member who has at least three years of experience at NIU. This service may involve on-campus activities but must include off-campus professional activities, e.g. state, national, or international. It should be demonstrated that the service activities are contributing to the stature and growth of the profession.

Cletus Fisher, former chair of the Department of Communicative Disorders, funded the award.

The 2012 winner of the Fisher Award is Sherrill Morris, associate professor of Communicative Disorders in the School of Allied Health and Communicative Disorders.

Her philosophy of service is expressed in her mentoring and teaching of students, her service to the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, and her service within NIU. Professor Morris serves as faculty adviser to the Communicative Disorders Student Association, a service organization with more than 200 members.

In addition to serving NIU, Morris was trained as a Council of Academic Accreditation site visitor. Site visitors serve their profession by helping to evaluate whether academic programs meet the standards of the profession. She also has served on the National Outcomes Measurement System, a data collection system initiated by the association to document the efficacy of speech-language pathology services.

CHHS Dean’s Student Awards

The college has established the Dean’s Award to recognize outstanding students in the:

Clockwise from top left: Kristi Kelzer, Kassandra Clanton, Randa Hamadeh and Kelsie Guehler

Clockwise from top left: Kristi Kelzer, Kassandra Clanton, Randa Hamadeh and Kelsie Guehler

Eligibility for the award is restricted to seniors with expected graduation dates in December 2011, May 2012 or August 2012.

Each department or school chooses one award recipient; students enrolled in the Department of Military Science must also be admitted to a major within the College of Health and Human Sciences or the minor in military science in order to be eligible to receive this award.

Preference is given to candidates with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better.

Nominees also will have demonstrated significant achievement and leadership in the areas of scholarship, campus and/or community activities and professional service.

The 2012 winners of the Dean’s Student Awards are:

Kristi Kelzer
Allied Health and Communicative Disorders
Major: Speech Language Pathology/Audiology

An exceptional student, a promising researcher and a hard-working volunteer both in and out of the classroom, Kelzer presented findings from her capstone research project at the Illinois Speech-Language-Hearing Association Convention in February 2012 and was awarded an EYE grant through the Honors program.

Kelzer volunteers her time at the COMD peer tutoring lab on a weekly basis and has helped a number of professors as a teaching assistant. She has also participated in two mission trips with Native American Children, providing respite care for foster children. Kelzer’s stellar academic record and commitment to helping others will carry her far.

Kassandra Clanton
Family, Consumer and Nutrition Sciences
Major: Textiles, Apparel and Merchandising

The top student in her classes, Clanton has been involved in extracurricular activities on and off campus. She served as vice president of the Fashion Industries Organization volunteered at the Youth Service Bureau in DeKalb.

Clanton’s hard work and leadership are great assets to the college.

Kelsie Guehler
School of Nursing and Health Studies
Major: Nursing

An involved and dedicated student, Guehler has served in leadership positions in national, state, and local student nursing associations. She served as president of the Illinois Student Nurses Association, director of the National Student Nurses Association and treasurer of the Northern Illinois University Student Nurses Organization.

Guehler also has published in Imprint Magazine, the publication for the National Student Nurses Association and has submitted a manuscript to Critical Care Nurses Journal. She is in the NIU Honors Program and has received numerous scholarships.

Randa Hamadeh
Department of Military Science

An exemplary student and leader, Hamadeh has earned a number of honors. She was given the Outstanding Leader Award by the Mortar Board Honor Society, of which she is a member, as well as multiple Army Physical Fitness Badge awards. Additionally, Hamadeh graduated as the top cadet in her senior class and received the highest nationwide Order of Merit Ranking of any NIU student this year.

Her superb level of academic achievement, dedication to service and outstanding leadership skills are sure to take her far.