Share Tweet Share Email

Murer re-elected chair of NIU Board of Trustees

May 10, 2012
Cherilyn G. Murer

Cherilyn G. Murer

Cherilyn G. Murer was re-elected today as chair of the Board of Trustees of Northern Illinois University for fiscal year 2013. She has served in this capacity since Sept. 15, 2011.

Murer, who was first appointed to the board in 2005 and was reappointed in spring, 2011, previously served as the fourth member of the executive cabinet. Before that, she served a two-year term as chair of the board from 2007 to 2009.

Over the last 25 years, Murer has distinguished herself as an active voice in the advancement of quality, cost-effective health care.

She currently is president and CEO of the Murer Consultants, Inc., a legal-based health care consulting group headquartered in Joliet.

Founded in 1985, Murer Consultants offers a wide range of consultative services, including the design and development of health facilities, regulatory compliance oversight, and reimbursement analysis for all venues of care. Murer Consultants has established relationships with more than 600 clients in 42 states and a number of foreign nations, including Canada, the Netherlands and Belgium.

A resident of Homer Glen, Murer is an alumna of the NIU College of Law, serves on its Board of Visitors and in 2003 received the College’s Distinguished Alumnus award. She also is a member of the NIU Foundation Board of Directors, and chairs that group’s development committee. She formerly served as director of rehabilitation medicine at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago.

Murer won the 2010 Northern Illinois University Distinguished Alumni of the Year Award and was inducted into Chicago Entrepreneurship Hall of Fame in February of 2010.

In 2011, Murer and her husband, Michael, sponsored the lecture series “Introduction to the Legal Profession: History, Culture, and Values,” which exposes first-year students at the NIU College of Law to legal scholars and luminaries from across the country to discuss the importance of professionalism in their careers.

Other NIU Board of Trustees officers elected today include Robert T. Boey as vice chair, Robert T. Marshall Jr. as secretary and Anthony A. Iosco as the fourth member of the executive committee.

All board officer terms are effective July 1.