Share Tweet Share Email

Supportive Professional Staff Council invites nominations for annual awards for excellence

October 17, 2011

Photo of a "thumbs-up" gestureThe Supportive Professional Staff Council is requesting nominations for the Presidential Supportive Professional Staff Award for Excellence.

This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the university. All Supportive Professional Staff are eligible. Individuals who were nominated previously but did not win are eligible again.

Four awards in the amount of $1,500 will be presented. In addition, each recipient will receive a plaque in recognition of their accomplishments.

To be eligible to receive this award, an employee must be actively employed at the time the award is presented April 17, 2012.

An individual can only receive this award once, and must be currently employed at NIU at the time the award is given in the spring.

The nominator is asked to address the following topics in a letter addressed to the SPSC Awards Committee:

  1. Significant contributions made by this individual to the university, beyond the expectations for this position. (Consider outstanding service, significance of contribution to NIU, support for the university’s mission and professionalism.)
  2. Evidence of commitment to her/his professional development.
  3. Nominee’s involvement with committees or organizations at NIU, or within their profession.

A completed application packet consists of the Nomination Referral Form and four letters:  a nomination letter and three letters of support. The support letters must address the above topics.  Only these four letters will be considered for each nominee. Each nomination must include the name, title and department of the nominee and nominator’s name, title and department.

Nominators are responsible for submitting the complete set of nomination materials.

The Nomination Referral Form, nomination letter and three letters of support should be sent to Dana Gautcher, co-chair of the SPSC Awards Committee, and must be received in the Office of Student Academic Success, 110 Academic Advising Center (633 W. Locust St.) by 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 1. Nominees will be asked to forward vitas when they are informed by the committee of their nominations.

Awards will be announced by the president in February 2012, and awards will be presented at the April 17 reception hosted by the president.

For more information, contact Gautcher at (815) 753-5712 or [email protected] or Dawn Roznowski at (815) 753-6161 or [email protected].