Share Tweet Share Email

Help the Huskies select ‘The Victors’

April 21, 2011

Northern Illinois Huskies logoThe time has come for Huskie fans to select the Northern Illinois Athletics Play of the Year for “The Victors,” an all-sports, ESPY-style awards banquet scheduled for Monday,┬áMay 2.

Voting for the award ends Friday, April 29.

The five finalists include: men’s soccer player James Stevenson scoring a spectacular goal at Bradley, football player Chad Spann‘s 61-yard touchdown run through the Minnesota defense, men’s basketball player Xavier Silas‘ 39-point performance against MAC Champion Akron, women’s basketball player Courtney Shelton‘s game-winning buzzer beater from half-court at Southern Illinois and wrestler Brad Dieckhaus winning the MAC Championship at 184 pounds.

Video from nine 2010-11 plays were considered and that group was narrowed down to five finalists. To vote for your favorite, click the button corresponding to that play.

The Play of the Year is one of 24 awards that will be given out at The Victors, which will also recognize NIU’s 2010-11 seniors in all sports. Awards will honor NIU’s top male and female newcomer, scholar-athlete and community service participant, as well as the top male and female teams in terms of both athletic and academic accomplishment.

The NIU Alumni Association will present the Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards. The Huskies will also feature awards for the top unsung hero, comeback of the year and non-scholarship student-athlete. Results from the 2010 spring, 2010 fall and 2010-11 winter sports were considered in the nominations and selection of winners.

Northern Illinois coaches nominated student-athletes for the awards and that list was narrowed down to four finalists in each category by members of the Huskie Athletics executive staff. The winners for every award except the Top Plays will be selected by the Northern Illinois Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), which is made up of representatives from every NIU intercollegiate athletics team. Following is a list of finalists for The 2011 Victors.

Male Newcomer of the Year
Jimmie Ward, Football
Sean Totsch, Men’s Soccer
Maksym Bartiuk, Men’s Tennis
Nick Smith, Wrestling

Female Newcomer of the Year
Danielle Pulliam, Women’s Basketball
Adriana Sanchez, Softball
Amy Carr, Women’s Soccer
Lauren Wicinski, Volleyball

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
Michael Krause, Football
Andrew Frame, Men’s Golf
Kyle Knotek, Men’s Soccer
Vince Castillo, Wrestling

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year
Jessica Watanabe, Gymnastics
Mo Smunt, Women’s Soccer
Breanna Brevitt, Track and Field
Kim Hunley, Women’s Golf

Unsung Hero of the Year
DeMarcus Grady, Men’s Basketball
Brittany Zimmermann, Gymnastics
Andrea Colosimo, Softball
Meaghan Bennett, Women’s Soccer

Male Community Service Award
Antone Christian, Men’s Basketball
Adam Kiel, Football
Mike Mascitti, Men’s Soccer
Jared Torrence, Wrestling

Female Community Service Award
Bianca Brown, Women’s Basketball
Allie Parthie, Women’s Golf
Samantha McConeghey, Track and Field
Kristin Hoffman, Volleyball

Huskie Heart Award
Chandler Harnish, Football
Brad Diekhaus, Wrestling
Holly Reichard, Gymnastics
Kayra Thompson, Women’s Soccer

Coach of the Year – Men’s Program
Tom Matukewicz, Football
Eric Luzzi, Men’s Soccer
Dave Grant, Wrestling

Coach of the Year – Women’s Program
Kathi Bennett, Women’s Basketball
Ray Gooden, Volleyball

Huskie Pride Award
Maggie Cimarolli, Gymnastics
Kurtis Luedtke, Men’s Golf
Alexandra Wulbecker, Softball
Mary Bull, Track and Field

Male Athlete of the Year
Xavier Silas, Men’s Basketball
Brad Diekhaus, Wrestling
Chandler Harnish, Football
Chad Spann, Football

Female Athlete of the Year
Marke Freeman, Women’s Basketball
Holly Reichard, Gymnastics
Mo Smunt, Women’s Soccer
Lauren Wicinski, Volleyball

Academic Team of the Year – Men’s Program
Men’s Golf
Men’s Soccer

Academic Team of the Year – Women’s Program
Women’s Soccer
Women’s Golf

Team of the Year – Men’s Program

Team of the Year – Women’s Program

Community Service Team of the Year – Men’s Program
Men’s Soccer
Men’s Tennis
Men’s Basketball

Community Service Team of the Year – Women’s Program
Women’s Golf

The Victors Cup Winner – Men’s Program
Men’s Soccer

The Victors Cup Winner – Women’s Program
Women’s Soccer

Mr. Victor E. Huskie
Troy White, Baseball
Chandler Harnish, Football
Finn Jor, Men’s Soccer
Brad Dieckhaus, Wrestling

Ms. Victor E. Huskie
Kelsie Passolt, Women’s Golf
Mo Smunt, Women’s Soccer
Emily Rogers, Women’s Tennis
Kristin Hoffman, Volleyball

For more information about NIU athletics, visit