Black Heritage Month begins Feb. 1

Photo of Africa on globeNIU will celebrate Black Heritage Month next month with several events.

Tuesday, Feb. 1: Opening ceremonies begin at 7 p.m. in Carl Sandburg Auditorium of the Holmes Student Center. The speaker will be Lasana Hotep, the lead consultant of Hotep Consultants and a student affairs staff member at Arizona State University in Tempe.

Thursday, Feb. 3: Pat Reid Merritt, Richard Stockton College, will speak at 7 p.m. in the Regency Room of the Holmes Student Center.

Saturday, Feb. 5: The Alpha Phi Alpha’s Black and Gold Ball will be held at 8 p.m. in the Duke Ellington Ballroom of the Holmes Student Center.

Monday, Feb. 7: National Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day will be commemorated at 7 p.m. in the Regency Room.

Tuesday, Feb. 8: The S-Plan Image Awards will be held at 6 p.m.in the Multipurpose Room of Stevenson Hall.

Wednesday, Feb. 9: “The Renaissance Man” will be held at 8:30 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of Stevenson Hall. Also, a program titled “Who Was Bayard Rustin” will be presented in the Illinois Room of the Holmes Student Center at 11:45 a.m. Rustin was an openly gay civil rights leader who worked with the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King.

Thursday: Feb. 10: The BROTHERS “Tribute to Black Women” will be held at 7 p.m. in the Duke Ellington Ballroom.

Friday, Feb. 11: The BROTHERS Black Heritage Month social begins at 7 p.m. in the New Orleans Room, located in the basement of Neptune North.

Saturday: Feb. 12: Phi Beta Sigma “Frat Attack” will be held at 7 p.m. in the Carl Sandburg Auditorium.

Sunday: Feb. 13: The NIU Black Choir will perform with famed gospel singer Fred Hammond at 7 p.m. at NIU’s Convocation Center.

Monday, Feb. 14: Black Faculty and Staff Appreciation begins at 7 p.m. in a location to be announced.

Thursday, Feb. 17: PPMO “Afrocentric Fashions” will be presented at 7 p.m. in the Duke Ellington Ballroom.

Friday, Feb. 18: Kappa Alpha Psi will present a Jazz Poetry Set in Neptune Central at 6 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 22: Amy R. Levin, director of NIU Women’s Studies, will speak at the Center for Black Studies at 4 p.m. Also, the African Student Association will present “Bridging the Gap” at 8 p.m. in Stevenson Towers North.

Wednesday, Feb. 23: A “Play Pocketbook” monologue begins at 7 p.m. in Diversions, located in the Holmes Student Center.

Thursday, Feb. 24: Z Phi B “Soul Bowl” will be held at 5 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of Stevenson Hall.

Saturday, Feb. 26: Campus Activities Board/RHA Party is scheduled from 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. Sunday, Feb. 27, in NIU’s Convocation Center.

Monday, Feb. 28: The closing ceremonies will include an African dance at 7 p.m. in Anderson Hall.

For more information, call NIU’s Center for Black Studies at (815) 753-1709.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email