Share Tweet Share Email

Supportive Professional Staff seeks nominations for annual Presidential Awards for Excellence

October 19, 2010
2010 award winners (clockwise from top left) were Bobbie Cesarek, Jes Cisneros, Michael Stang and Patrick Gorman

2010 award winners (clockwise from top left) were Bobbie Cesarek, Jes Cisneros, Michael Stang and Patrick Gorman

The Supportive Professional Staff Council is requesting nominations for the Supportive Professional Staff Presidential Award for Excellence.

This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the university. All Supportive Professional Staff are eligible. If you have previously nominated an individual, please consider re-nominating them.

Four awards in the amount of $1,500 will be presented. In addition, each recipient will receive a plaque in recognition of their accomplishments.

To be eligible to receive this award, an employee must be actively employed at the time the award is presented April 19, 2011. An individual can only receive this award once, and must be currently employed at NIU at the time the award is given in the spring.

The nominator is asked to address the following topics in a letter addressed to the SPSC Awards Committee:

  • Significant contributions made by this individual to the university, beyond the expectations for this position. (Consider outstanding service, significance of contribution to NIU, support for the university’s mission and professionalism.)
  • Evidence of commitment to her/his professional development.
  • Nominee’s involvement with committees or organizations at NIU, or within their profession.

A completed application packet consists of the Nomination Referral Form and four letters: a nomination letter and three letters of support. The support letters must address the above topics. Only these four letters will be considered for each nominee. All nominations must include the nominee’s and nominator’s name, title and department.

Nominators are responsible for submitting the complete set of nomination materials. Nominees will be asked to forward vitas when they are informed by the committee of their nominations.

The Nomination Referral Form, nomination letter, and three letters of support should be sent to Dana Gautcher, co-chair, SPSC Awards Committee, and must be received in the Office of Student Academic Success, 110 Academic Advising Center (633 W. Locust Street), by 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 1. There will be no extensions of the deadline.

Awards will be announced by the president in February 2011, and awards will be presented at an April 19, 2011, reception hosted by the president.

For more information, contact Missy Gillis at (815) 753-0676 or via e-mail at [email protected].